I love fast food.

There, I said it.

In this day and age of worrying about trans fats, being healthy, Zumba classes, etc it’s not good to love fast food, let alone eat it regularly. I make no apologies for my love of fast food because, it’s just that — FAST! Well, except for that one Wendy’s I sometimes frequent which didn’t seem to get the memo about their station in the food chain, so to speak. “Fast Food quality at Sit Down Restaurant waits!”

So, it is with a certain knowledge of fast food joints I feel I can say Taco Bell is the undoubted king of the land here. All based on the size of the drink they give you with a combo meal.

Seriously.

Well, that and their price vs. quantity of food breakdown.

I went to Taco Bell for lunch recently (see, this didn’t just came to me for no reason whatsoever!) and it dawned on me. At just about anywhere else if you want to get a drink that’s actually bigger than my son’s sippy cup with your combo meal you have to pay almost a DOLLAR more for that right. Now, I know it’s only a dollar (rounding up) but when you’re already paying almost $6 for your lukewarm fries and greaseball with lettuce, that makes for a mighty expensive quick lunch.

At Taco Bell, however, you get quite a bit of bang for your buck. Me? I like to sorta over order so I can have a snack at work should I get hungry later. Lets take a look at my receipt from my recent trip and realize just how much bang I’m getting for my buck to go with my adult-sized drink that came STANDARD with the meal:
=====
Crunchwrap Supreme (combo with drink and regular taco) – $4.19
Cheesy Double Beef Burrito – $.89
Cheese Roll Up – $.79
Total (after tax) – $6.22
=====

That’s a hell of a lotta food for less than $7!

Of course, as with any thing food related, the question of taste comes up. Meh. Is it edible? Sure. Is it, say, as good as the steak I had in Manhattan a couple weeks ago?? HELL NO. But that’s not the point! The point of fast food is to give you something edible for an affordable price and, in theory, give you enough for your money so that you’re not going back an hour later starving. The point is to get it to you fast so you can get back to your office, house, wherever quickly so you can get back to work or get back to whatever it is you need to do. The point is NOT to make you go “Oh my GOD this is the best taco/burger/hot dog I’ve EVER HAD!”

And, Taco Bell when you factor in bang for the buck does that.

The fact that they give you an adult-sized drink standard is just the icing on the cake.

