Like any good blogger I am addicted to reading, writing, creating Lists. Crafting the perfect List to show off one’s knowledge of or opinion on a particular subject is not only a cheap and easy literary device, it’s a fun way to argue with yourself while you try to craft the perfect Top 10 list.

God knows I went through multiple arguments with my inner monologue crafting this list.

Everybody who crafts a best albums of the year list has their own technique to keep it all straight so they can give the most all encompassing and close to perfect list they can at the end of the year. In my case I kept a Memo on my Blackberry memo pad that I would update with an album every time I heard an album that I really liked. Then, around early December, I copied all those albums into a document on Google Docs and started the sorting, editing, ranking process. Sometimes there would be a late discover that gets added to the list, but ultimately I would do multiple drafts of the list until I finally settled on what I felt was the perfect represenation of what albums I loved the most this year.

So, now that i’ve explained the methodology of my list and how it came together allow me to present to you Real Talk Live’s Top 10 Albums of 2009

1: DoomridersDarkness Comes Alive
2: Grouch and ElighSay G & E
3: ConvergeAxe To Fall
4: BlacklistedNo One Deserves To Be Here More Than Me
5: CoalesceOx/Oxep
6: Isis The Wavering Radient
7: P.O.S. – Never Better
8: PhoenixWolfgang Amadeus Phoenix
9: Baroness The Blue Record
10: Raekwon Only Built For Cuban Linx Pt 2

There were a number of other fantastic albums that I had the pleasure of hearing this year so here’s a list of those Honorable Mentions/Other great albums of the year for you to absorb (these are in no particular order)

Avett Brothers – I and Love and You
Slayer – World Painted Blood
Pelican – what we all come to need
Them crooked vultures – them crooked vultures
Lucero – 1372 Overton Park
Animal Collective – Merriweather Post Pavillion
Neko Case – Middle Cyclone
The Lonely Island – Incredibad
Kylesa – Static Tensions
Big Buisness – Mind The Drift
Sonic Youth – The Eternal
Dave Matthew Band – Big Whiskey and The GrooGrux King
Clutch – Strange Cousins from the West
Narrows – Distance
Maylene and the Sons of Disaster – 3
The Dead Weather – Horehound
Cave In – Planets of Old ep
Pearl Jam – Backspacer
Jay Z – The Blueprint 3

So there you go, lots of great music came out this year. And while I often say something along the lines of ‘oh next year is gonna have a hard time topping this year’ I’d be remiss if I didn’t say that more so than usual that’s true. 2010’s musical offerings will have a huge mountain to climb. So, stop reading and go listen to some music damnit! I just gave you a whole list of stuff to go and check out.

